Randy Rawson Scholarship Program

The application window has closed for 2017.

Purpose & Scope

The Randy Rawson Scholarship Program was created for the Promotion of Careers in Boiler Engineering and Fabrication. A special fund has been organized to support the scholarship program and is operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The specific purpose of the Fund is to support post-secondary education and/or training of graduating high school students pursuing careers in the commercial, institutional, industrial or power-generating boiler, combustion and related equipment industry through educational scholarships. The number and amount of scholarships awarded is determined by the ABMA Board of Directors each year in which scholarships are offered. In 2015, the ABMA awarded nine scholarships and has given out almost $100,000 since inception.

An eligible student is enrolled in or have been accepted by a nationally or regionally accredited post-secondary institution of higher learning or similarly-accredited community college, vocational or trade/technical school and has a high school diploma or General Education Development (GED).
The applicant must be a relative of an employee of an Active or Associate Member in good standing of the ABMA or sponsored by an Active or Associate Member company of ABMA. Additional eligibility criteria is included in the application materials.

How to Apply
Applicants are also required to submit high school or college transcript (whichever is applicable), two letters of recommendation, an essay on your perception for the importance of the boiler industry and why you chose this industry for a possible career. Please also specify how this scholarship will assist with your educational plans/focus and how your focus aligns with the purpose and goals of the Scholarship.

Deadlines, Notifications & Payments
Completed applications including supporting documentation must be submitted as a PDF packet to ABMA no later than April 26, 2017. Scholarship determinations will be announced no later than May 30. All applicants will be notified in writing by email of the Selection Committee's decisions. Awarded scholarships will be paid directly to the student's university, college, or school by ABMA on behalf of the scholarship recipient.

No applicant for a Fund scholarship shall be discriminated against on the basis of sex, race, religion, national origin, sexual orientation or citizenship.

2016 Recipients

Thor Brockman – Computer Engineering – Clemson University
Sponsored by Victory Energy
Tobias Dwyer – Chemical Engineering – University of Arkansas-Fayetteville
Sponsored by Victory Energy
Dylan Funk – Mechanical Engineering – Pittsburg State University
Sponsored by Chanute Manufacturing
Lauren Herrington – Mechanical Engineering – University of Tulsa
Sponsored by Cust-O-Bend
Klaryssa Huessmann – Business/Marketing – Oklahoma Wesleyan University
Sponsored by Victory Energy
Kolby Kiesling – Engineering – Abilene Christian University
Sponsored by Applied Heat Recovery
Charles Lefebvre – Mechanical Engineering – Universite Laval
Sponsored Cleaver-Brooks & NATCOM
Mark Martinez – Engineering - Abilene Christian University
Sponsored by Applied Heat Recovery
Nathan McDonald – Electrical Engineering – Northern Illinois University
Sponsored by Karl Dungs
Emily Ruble – Exploratory Engineering – Western Kentucky University
Sponsored by WARE
Cody Shults – Civil Engineering – Oklahoma State University
Sponsored by Victory Energy
Vincent Souza – Mechanical Engineering – Monterey Peninsula College
Sponsored by Nationwide Boiler
Brandi Young – Business Administration – Southwestern College
Sponsored by Webster Combustion